Therefore cleanse out the old leaven, so that you are a new lump, as you are unleavened. For also Messiah our Passover was offered for us
Pesach (Passover) is a feast held every year commemorating the deliverance of our Hebrew ancestors from slavery at the hands of the Egyptians. Morever it is a commemoration of what our Messiah, Yeshua, did for us when He was crucified for our sins. Join us as we honor and worship our Heavenly Father and His Son at the 2019 Pesach Seder.
On the next day Yohanan saw Yeshua coming toward him, and said, “See, the Lamb of Elohim who takes away the sin of the world!
Every day is a kosher eating day, but with Passover we observe a special addition to eating kosher. This includes not eating any food that contains leaven (i.e. yeast). Our Passover seder is a covered dish event where everyone pitches in with the bringing of the food. However, please be sure to be careful to make sure that the dish you are bringing is kosher for Passover and also be sure to contact us if you are bringing food and let us know what you are bringing so that we can add your dish to the list of food.
Below is a list of food that is kosher for Passover. This is not an exhaustive list, but should be a good selection to get you started. If you would like to see some larger lists, please check out the links at the bottom of this lineup.
Southern food is commonly cooked with non-kosher meats. For example, beans are commonly cooked with a side of pork or fat-back. Not only is this non-kosher it is also not kosher for Passover. So if you are preparing a dish be sure not to season it with anything that is not kosher.
Also, be careful when preparing foods with grains. Bread and products that contain grains, even if no yeast is added, may begin to leaven if they have had contact with moisture for more than about 15 minutes. If you are unsure how to cook with grains in a manner appropriate for Passover, then err on the safe side and simply do not bring a dish containing grains. However, there are products that can be purchased that contain grains from your grocery store that are certified "Kosher for Passover". So there's always that route if you are really wanting to bring a dish made from grains.
Note: We do not certify the venue or the preparation of foods through rabbinic or kosher inspection authorities. Scripture is our guide and authority in the keeping of kosher and as such final approval or denial of foods will be up to the elders and deacons of Kehillat Yeshua through the guidance of Scripture and the Holy Spirit.
Broth from kosher meats
Broth from vegetables
Any packaged or processed foods with a stamp of "Kosher for Passover"
Sponge cakes which utilize foamed egg whites instead of yeast for structure
“And it shall be, when you come to the land which יהוה gives you, as He promised, that you shall guard this service. And it shall be, when your children say to you, ‘What does this service mean to you?’ then you shall say, ‘It is the Passover slaughtering of יהוה, who passed over the houses of the children of Yisra’el in Egypt when He smote the Egyptians and delivered our households.’ ”